WKcollective | Portraits in Red

A choreography by Wanjiru Kamuyu developed with Robyn Orlin

solo |

dance/sculpture

Creation 2017

Running time: 40 minutes

Suitable to all audiences

Portraits in red investigates and explores the idea of the dominant standard of beauty and puts in question the image of the body. The dominance of the European and US beauty and fashion industries’ capitalization and globalization of a homogenized standard of beauty is the springboard for the work’s research.

Being born into a bi-cultural home (Kenya/USA) and having lived on three continents (Africa, North America and Europe), Wanjiru Kamuyu continues to be intrigued by each society’s general relationship to the notion of beauty and the provocation that arise around the image of the body.  Based on the 2013 reconstruction of a 2005 solo, Spiral, she decided to revisit the idea in collaboration with the artistic expertise of choreographer and dramaturge Robyn Orlin.

Her intrigue with the notion and definition of beauty coupled with the historical and current pervasive objectification and exotification of the human body, particularly female, serve as the points of inquiry into the work.

Portraits in red examines conflicting ideas, issues and challenges identified with the politics of the body such as dominance, oppression, assimilation, objectification and exotification. This is propelled by an engrained need to adapt and assimilate into a Western culturally, racially and socially biased mold of what connotes beauty.

Portraits in red is a universal narrative that is bold, brave and uncompromising in its mission.

Choreography & performance |

Wanjiru Kamuyu

Dramaturgy | Robyn Orlin

Music (composition) | Nate May

Music (arrangements) | lacrymoboy

Costume conception | Robyn Orlin

Light design | Cyril Mulon

Art | Wangechi Mutu

Upcoming tour dates

Kenyan Wanjiru Kamuyu, with an already forged international career, including the USA, attracted a small public triumph, in a Spiral of a solo, stirring a gigantic piece of fabric at times like a prosthetic attached to her own hair, to the straps of her dress, to her partial nudity, in a grand sequence of metamorphic tenacity, sacral and very well inhabited. This power of soloist conviction well echoes the festival’s opening by Germaine Acogny in Mon Elue Noire choreographed by Olivier Dubois.”

Gérard Mayen, Danse Canal Historique, April 2017

 

Photos © Stéphane Chouan

WKcollective | Portraits in Red

Une chorégraphie de Wanjiru Kamuyu développée avec Robyn Orlin

solo |

danse/sculpture

Création 2017

Durée : 40 minutes

Tous publics

Portraits in red interroge l’idée d’un standard de beauté dominant en remettant en question l’image du corps. L’hégémonie de la définition européenne et américaine du corps idéal et la diffusion mondiale à des fins mercantiles par l’industrie de la mode d’un standard de beauté homogénéisé sont les points de départ de ce travail.

Originaire d’un foyer mixte kenyan-américain et ayant vécu dans trois continents (Afrique, Amérique du Nord et Europe), Wanjiru Kamuyu est fascinée par le rapport à la beauté de chaque société et les réactions face à la notion du corps.

Avec Portraits in red, et après son solo Spirals, elle continue à explorer cette idée en s’appuyant cette fois-ci sur l’expertise artistique de la chorégraphe-dramaturge Robyn Orlin.

La notion et la définition de la beauté dans un contexte permanent d’objectification et d’exotification du corps humain, en particulier celui de la femme, a servi de point de départ aux recherches pour cette œuvre.

Portraits in red confronte des idées, des problématiques et des défis liés à la question du corps comme la domination, l’oppression, l’assimilation, l’objectification, ou du corps comme surface de projection exotique. La chorégraphie est un discours critique à l’encontre du modèle de beauté occidental qui est culturellement, racialement et socialement biaisé.

Portraits in red est un récit universel, audacieux, courageux et intransigeant.

Chorégraphie et interprétation |   Wanjiru Kamuyu

Dramaturgie | Robyn Orlin

Musique (composition) | Nate May

Musique (arrangement) | lacrymoboy

Conception costume | Robyn Orlin

Lumières | Cyril Mulon

Art | Wangechi Mutu

“(…) La Kenyane Wanjiru Kamuyu, déjà forgée dans une carrière très internationale, aux USA y compris, s’est attiré un petit triomphe public, dans un solo tout en Spirale, brassant un gigantesque tissu à la façon d’une prothèse mêlée à ses propres cheveux, aux lanières de sa robe, à sa nudité partielle, dans un grand parcours de la ténacité des métamorphoses, sacral et très assuré. Cette puissance de conviction soliste pouvait faire écho à l’ouverture du festival par Germaine Acogny, en Mon Elue Noire du chorégraphe Olivier Dubois. ”

Gérard Mayen, Danse Canal Historique. avril 2017

Photos © Stéphane Chouan