WKcollective | La visite

A film featuring Wanjiru Kamuyu directed by Tommy Pascal

 

 

dance film

Creation 2020

Running time: 10 minutes

Suitable to all audiences

Wanjiru Kamuyu, choreographer and performer, Tommy Pascal, director specialized in dance and music, alongside dramaturge Dirk Korell, created La visite. A film inspired by Wanjiru Kamuyu’s new solo work, An Immigrant’s Story and her sensorial journey within the Palais de la Porte Dorée (The Golden Gate Palace) in Paris.

Born into a bi-cultural home (Kenyan American) and having lived on three continents (Africa, North America and Europe), Wanjiru Kamuyu is intrigued by each society’s general relationship to and provocation around the image of the body.

December 4th to 6th 2020, at The Palais de la Porte Dorée in partnership with Théâtre de la Ville-Paris, Wanjiru was programmed to present An Immigrant’s Story. Through the lens of her personal migration from Kenya to France via the United States of America, interwoven with a collection of diverse migration stories, the solo examines the notions of displacement and otherness.

Despite the cancellation of the performances due to the health crisis, Wanjiru and the presenting partners desired to find a new medium to render the work visible. Thus giving birth to the film, La visite directed by Tommy Pascal.

La visite brings together elements of Wanjiru’s solo in resonance with the layered history of the Palais de la Porte Dorée. The building constructed in 1931 for the International Colonial Exposition, was originally intended to be the Historical Museum of French Colonies. After several attributions it is now the home of the National Historical Museum of Immigration.

Through movement and image, La visite, echoes colonial heritage coming up against the contemporary plight in the decolonization of the mind and body.

Choreography and performance: Wanjiru  Kamuyu

Direction: Tommy Pascal

Dramaturgy and executvive production: Dirk Korell

Music composition: LACRYMOBOY

Costume: Birgit Neppl

Executive production: camin aktion

A commission by the Etablissement public du Palais de la Porte Dorée, in partnershiph with Théâtre de la Ville-Paris.

WKcollective | La visite

Un film de Wanjiru Kamuyu réalisé par Tommy Pascal

 

 

film de danse 

Création 2020

Durée : 10 minutes

Tous publics

Wanjiru Kamuyu est danseuse et chorégraphe. Tommy Pascal est réalisateur, spécialisé dans la danse et la musique. Avec le dramaturge Dirk Korell, ils ont conçu La visite, un film reprenant des éléments du spectacle de Wanjiru Kamuyu, An Immigrant’s Story, en les transposant dans le forum et les mezzanines du Palais de la Porte Dorée.

Originaire d’un foyer mixte kenyan-américain et ayant vécu dans trois continents (Afrique, Amérique du Nord et Europe), Wanjiru Kamuyu interroge la notion du corps dans les sociétés.

Du 4 au 6 décembre 2020, Wanjiru Kamuyu devait donner trois représentations de son nouveau spectacle An Immigrant’s Story au Palais de la Porte Dorée en partenariat avec le Théâtre de la Ville-Paris. Dans ce solo, elle part de son parcours personnel de migration, du Kenya à la France en passant par les États-Unis, et d’une collecte de récits de migrations multiples, pour engager une réflexion sur les notions de déplacement et d’altérité.

Face à la situation sanitaire rendant les représentations impossibles, Wanjiru Kamuyu et l’ensemble des partenaires ont souhaité donner à voir ce spectacle différemment. Ainsi est née La visite : un film de danse réalisé par Tommy Pascal.

La visite met en résonance des éléments du solo de Wanjiru avec les strates du Palais de la Porte Dorée. Ce bâtiment, construit pour l’Exposition coloniale de 1931, eut pour première vocation d’être le Musée des colonies. Il fut transformé de multiples fois pour finalement accueillir en son sein l’actuel Musée national de l’histoire l’immigration.

À travers la danse et l’image, La visite met en écho l’héritage colonial et les révoltes contemporaines qui trouvent leurs racines dans cette histoire.

Chorégraphie et interprétation: Wanjiru  Kamuyu

Réalisation : Tommy Pascal

Dramaturgie et direction de production : Dirk Korell

Musique originale : LACRYMOBOY

Costume : Birgit Neppl

Production déléguée : camin aktion

Une commande de l’Etablissement public du Palais de la Porte Dorée, en partenariat avec le Théâtre de la Ville-Paris.