WKcollective | An Immigrant’s Story

Hearing and visually impaired accessible

A choreography by Wanjiru Kamuyu

solo | dance, text & song

Creation 2020

Duration: 55 minutes

Audio-description (French) for the visually impaired

The performance ideally is preceded by an immersive workshop to acclimate the attendees to the work’s sensorial environment.

duo | dance, text & song, French sign language

Creation 2021

Duration: 55 minutes

A sign language dancer for the hearing impaired. Optional: with an audio-description (French).

 

After the creation of dance theater solo An Immigrant’s Story, Wanjiru Kamuyu wished to revisit the work to render it accessible to the hearing and visually impaired communities. This desire stems from and is inspired by her mother’s work with the blind and special education communities in East Africa and the US.

Kamuyu’s dance making is grounded in storytelling, with a particular focus on ignored, rarely told and untold stories of marginalized communities. Hence at the heart of An Immigrant’s Story is a diverse collection of stories from a wide range of walks of life. Therefore the question of accessibility became an essential.

In collaboration with dancer/interpreter Nelly Célérine and French sign language coach Carlos Carreras, Kamuyu re-created the choreographic tapestry of An Immigrant’s Story. Together they created the work’s choreo-sign language by fusing the gestural vocabulary of sign language and the already existing movement languages of the piece.

There lies common ground in the linguistic and accessibility challenges faced by all who travel and arrive into new spaces and cultural contexts. Dramaturgical and choreographic questions on the how and the why were once again tackled in the re-creation of An Immigrant’s Story.

In partnership with Accès Culture (Paris), Julie Compans’ sensitive approach to creating audio-descriptions for choreographic and theatrical works was of valuable service to An Immigrant’s Story. She skillfully created a beautifully descriptive journey for the visually impaired. A journey that evidently is also inclusive of the new choreo-sign language movement vocabulary of the work. Pre-performance immersive sensorial workshops are also offered to the visually impaired audiences. This familiarizes them with the work’s theatrical environment.

Having lived on three different continents – Africa, North America and Europe – has provided me the privileged space and time to absorb diverse cultures and worldviews.

The current critically sensitive (im)migration issue at the forefront of worldwide political debates has inspired me to re-examine my personal (im)migration stories and consequentially cultivated a desire to examine the notion of and politics surrounding the privileged vs. unprivileged (im)migrant.

Summer 2017, in France, I worked on a community engagement project with 65 young aspiring artists from Eastern Europe and 11 Middle Eastern and African refugees. The refugees’ audacious stories remained with me. Further exploration of the core underpinnings causing the current flux in (im)migration serve as points of inquiry for my An Immigrant’s Story.

Wanjiru Kamuyu

Upcoming tour dates

Choreography & performance | Wanjiru Kamuyu

Performer & Sign language: Nelly Celerine

Dramaturgy & producer | Dirk Korell

Music composition | LACRYMOBOY

With the voices of Sherwood Chen, David Gaulein-Stef, Naïs Haidar, Karine Hanselmann, Wanjiru Kamuyu, Dirk Korell, Crystal Petit, Monika Schwarzl, Sean Seago and the stories of Tout-Monde

Coach sign language Carlos Carreras. Outside eye and coach David Gaulein-Stef

Audio-description Julie Compans | Accès Culture

Light design | Cyril Mulon

Costume design | Birgit Neppl

Production intern | Yvan-Loïc Kamdem Djoko

Special thanks to Robyn Orlin and Jean Gaudin 

Executive producer | camin aktion

Co-production | Espace 1789 de Saint-Ouen, scène conventionnée de Saint-Ouen | La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine Bordeaux ‎• La Rochelle | L’échangeur – CDCN Hauts-de-France | Musée National de l’Histoire de l’Immigration / Théâtre de la Ville – Paris | L’Onde Théâtre Centre d’Art, Scène Conventionnée d’Intérêt National – Art et Création pour la Danse | micadanses, Paris

Funding  | Direction régionale des affaires culturelles d’Île-de-France | Région Ile-de-France | SPEDIDAM | Onda, Office national de diffusion artistique

Residencies | Direction des Affaires Culturelles de la Ville d’Aubervilliers – Espace Renaudie | Les SUBS – Lieu vivant d’expériences artistiques, Lyon | Montpellier Danse – residency at Agora, cité internationale de la danse, with the support of Fondation BNP Paribas

Pertnership – residenies | La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine Bordeaux ‎• La Rochelle | L’échangeur – CDCN Hauts-de-France | La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse/Occitanie

Partnership – studio space | Atelier de Paris / Centre de développement chorégraphique national | Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers | CN D Centre national de la danse, Pantin | micadanses, Paris

Photos © Anne Volery – Palais de la Porte Dorée

WKcollective | An Immigrant’s Story

Version accessible par LSF et/ou par audiodéscription

Une chorégraphie de Wanjiru Kamuyu

Performance solo

Création 2020

Durée : 55 minutes

Accessible par audiodéscription.

La représentation peut être précédée d’une approche sensorielle de l’univers du spectacle.

Performance duo

Création 2021

Durée : 55 minutes

Accessible par LSF, en option par audiodéscription

 

Après la création du solo An Immigrant’s Story, Wanjiru Kamuyu rend son spectacle accessible aux mal-entendant.e.s, sourd.e.s, malvoyant.e.s et aveugles.

Basé sur des récits de migrations, An Immigrant’s Story est construit avec des éléments de textes, en partie de témoignages ; inclure les publics aux besoins spécifiques dans un récit collectif me semble essentiel. Il s’agit ici aussi, de rendre accessible des récits souvent tus dans un discours officiel.

En collaboration avec l’interprète Nelly Celerine et le coach en LSF Carlos Carreras, la langue de signes est abordée sous l’aspect chorégraphique : tout comme la danse est une langue en soi, le signe est ici travailler en relation avec le sens transmis, tout comme un élément chorégraphique. 

Les questionnement sur les défis de la personne en migration arrivant dans un nouveau contexte culturel, linguistique, voire cognitif, touchent forcément nos concitoyen•e•s avec des troubles sensoriels. Le développement de l’approche de l’accessibilité passait forcément par une appréhension dramaturgique : comment « traduire » ce qui est dit en signe, et au « contraire », comment décrire ce qui n’est pas audible ? Des résidences chez nos partenaires (micadances, Montpellier Danse, Pôle Sud Strasbourg, La Chaufferie – Cie Philippe Découflé) ont permis de mener les recherches dans ce sens. Pour l’audiodéscription, en partenariat avec Accès Culture, Julie Compans développe une approche sensible et des ateliers de sensibilisation sont proposés au public mal- ou non-voyant en amont des représentations.

Ayant vécu sur trois continents, j’ai eu l’avantage du temps et de l’espace pour acquérir différentes cultures et visions sur notre monde.

Le débat actuel sur les (im)migrations, au niveau mondial et dans un contexte politique qu’agitent différentes argumentations, m’a amenée à me questionner et à revoir mon propre parcours de (im)migration. Cela m’a conduit à différencier les notions d'(im)migrants « privilégiés » et d’(im)migrants défavorisés.

En été 2017, en Auvergne, j’ai eu l’opportunité de travailler pour un projet socio- culturel avec 65 jeunes adultes d’Europe de l’Est et onze réfugié.e.s du Proche-Orient et d’Afrique. Leurs récits m’ont marquée. Pour mon prochain projet, je m’interroge aussi sur les raisons profondes et les causes des flux de (im)migration.

Wanjiru Kamuyu

Calendrier de diffusion

Chorégraphie et interprétationWanjiru Kamuyu

Adaptation LSF : avec Wanjiru Kamuyu et Nelly Celerine

Dramaturgie et direction de production | Dirk Korell

Auteure | Laetitia Ajanohun

Musique originale | lacrymoboy

Avec les voix de Laetitia Ajanohun, Jean-François Auguste, Wanjiru Kamuyu, Dirk Korell, Pascal Beugre Tellier, Smaïl Kanouté, Crystal Petit, Sibille Planques et les témoignages de Tout-Monde

Adaptation LSF : Coach LSF Carlos Carreras. Regard extérieur et coaching David Gaulein-Stef

Réalisation audiodéscription Julie Compans | Accès Culture

Création lumière | Cyril Mulon

Costume | Birgit Neppl

Stagiaire de production | Yvan-Loïc Kamdem Djoko

Remerciements chaleureux à Robyn Orlin, Jean Gaudin et à David Gaulein-Stef

Production déléguée | camin aktion

Coproduction | Espace 1789 de Saint-Ouen, scène conventionnée de Saint-Ouen |  La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine Bordeaux ‎• La Rochelle | L’échangeur – CDCN Hauts-de-France | Musée National de l’Histoire de l’Immigration / Théâtre de la Ville – Paris | L’Onde Théâtre Centre d’Art, Scène Conventionnée d’Intérêt National – Art et Création pour la Danse | micadanses, Paris

Accueil en résidence | Direction des Affaires Culturelles de la Ville d’Aubervilliers – Espace Renaudie | Les SUBS – Lieu vivant d’expériences artistiques, Lyon | Montpellier Danse dans le cadre de l’accueil en résidence à l’Agora, cité internationale de la danse, avec le soutien de la Fondation BNP Paribas

Accueil-studio | La Manufacture CDCN Nouvelle-Aquitaine Bordeaux ‎• La Rochelle | L’échangeur – CDCN Hauts-de-France | La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse/Occitanie

Prêt de studio | Atelier de Paris / Centre de développement chorégraphique national | Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers | CN D Centre national de la danse, Pantin | micadanses, Paris (dans le cadre d’un accompagnement spécifique)

Soutien | Direction régionale des affaires culturelles d’Île-de-France | Région Ile-de-France | SPEDIDAM

Photos des répétitions © Naïs Haidar

Photos du spectacle © Pierre Planchenault