Kompani Frikar | Hallgrim Hansegård

Valdres | Norway

Company Frikar is based in Aurdal, close to Valdres, a 200km road drive north of Oslo. The company is directed by Hallgrim Hansegård.

With halling – a virtuoso traditionnal dance – as his background, Hallgrim excels as one of the most rewarded dancers. This high-level athlete, trained in video arts, curious by nature, transgresses borders with solid roots in his tradition and region.

For him, dance is a universal language. The technics of the folklore dance forms are his tools to develop stage works (trio GotoGuta), or a mean of communication with artists from other horizons.

Hallgrim Hansegård developed cooperations with contemporary or hiphop-rooted dancers, he lived and worked with young kung-fu monks in China for an encounter with martial arts (creation 8).

He now prepares two collaborations: one with a flamenco-dancer and a second one, with an Indian dancer from Bharatanatyam and Kuchipudi dance cultures. His skills enable Hallgrim to created multiple connections, where the universal appears as an evidence.

His love to music brought him to collaboration with symphonic orchestras or solo musicians, such in the duo YR. 

Hallgrim’s studies in video arts result in stunning video-dance works where he plays with natural elements; striking documentaries were realized in collaboration with the Norwegian national TV.

Frikar’s works include vocal arts, namely the ancestral joik of the Sami people. This native, mostly non-verbal vocal expression faced oppression and official ban for long times, namely during the periods of political and religious colonization, and “Norwegianization”; this oppression included some traditional dace forms. Hallgrim Hansegård, who lived in Italy, experienced censorship by the catholic church.

As a virtuoso of body and movement, Hallgrim’s dance also develops verticality with the use of rigging and bungee.

Frikar built its international reputation – and a residency venue in the midst of the Aurdal village and -valley. Just like Hallgrim, this place for research and creation merges stage and nature, binds local and international.

Photo © Pål Laukli

Kompani Frikar | Hallgrim Hansegård

Valdres | Norvège

La compagnie Frikar, installée à Aurdal près de Valdres, à 200km au nord d’Oslo, est dirigée par Hallgrim Hansegård.

Initialement formé dans le halling, une danse traditionnelle virtuose, Hallgrim s’y distingue en tant qu’un des danseurs les plus primés. Athlète de haut niveau, avec une formation audio-visuelle, ce touche-à-tout cherche à transgresser les frontières, tout en étant ancré dans une tradition et un terroir.

La danse est pour Hallgrim un langage universel. A partir de sa technique du folklore il développe des créationschorégraphiques (le trio GotoGuta), ou il se sert de ce langage afin de communiquer avec des artistes d’horizons très divers.

Ainsi, il crée des dialogues avec les danses contemporaine ou encore hiphop, il a vécu et travaillé avec des jeunes moines en Chine pour une approche aux arts martiaux (création 8).

Prochainement, il collaborera dans deux projets distincts avec une danseuse Flamenco et une danseuse indienne du Bharatanatyam et Kuchipudi. Maîtrisant sa technique à merveille, il lui est possible de créer de connections multiples, où l’universel se cristallise comme une évidence.

Le lien à la musique l’a emmené à collaborer avec des orchestres symphoniques, ou des solistes, comme dans le duo YR.

Sa formation à l’image lui donne tous les moyens pour développer la vidéo-danse, pour composer avec les éléments, et pour la réalisation de saisissants documentaires.

Ses collaborations intègrent l’art vocal, notamment le joik de la culture Saami. Cette expression autochtone, non-verbale, a pendant longtemps subi oppression et interdiction, notamment au cours de la christianisation des zones arctiques. Ce ban a également touché certaines formes de la danse traditionnelle norvégienne, et a valu à Hallgrim Hansegård, qui a vécu en Italie, d’être censuré par l’église catholique italienne.

Virtuose du corps, la danse se décline aussi à la verticalité, avec une recherche sur l’utilisation du gréage ou du bungee.

Frikar a su bâtir son renommé – et un centre de résidence et de création à Aurdal, implanté dans un village en pleine nature. Tout à l’image de l’imaginaire de Hallgrim, attaché aux éléments de la nature qu’il invite sur scène et qui sont la toile de fond de son art singulier.

Photo © Pål Laukli