Company Vivons

Smaïl Kanouté

Company Vivons was born in 2016 under the impulse of the dancer-choreographer-plastic artist Smaïl Kanouté. From the start, artist associated with the Centquatre – Paris, artist in residence at Mains d’Œuvres – Saint-Ouen, then artist chosen to join the 2018 promotion of the choreographer incubator of the Fabrique de la Danse, his work is regularly scheduled in Ile de France.
A talented and generous artist, a graduate of ENSAD, Smail Kanouté blurs the boundaries between dance and graphic art without complex. Because to choose is to renounce, he decided to live his passions without concession… for through his art, to offer the world his conception of beauty, kindness and humanity. In his creative process, everything starts from a motif: a shape, a line, a curve, a color, an emotion, an energy… to which he gives life through his body. 

Choreography is like creating a painting of moving patterns in space. Dance and graphics are for him a way of telling himself, of sharing a part of himself. The question of origins and the quest for identity, knowing where we come from to better define who we want to become, runs through his approach, which is fueled by artistic and cultural mixtures.

Company Vivons’ projects revolve around three axes:

The performative projects often resulting from the meeting with an artist, an esthetics, a thematic, and aiming to create a new form mixing design, dance and visual arts.

The choreographic works, a space where Smail Kanouté can push his formal research further and develop a more personal subject.

Artistic mediation around his protean writing. Favoring the expressiveness of the movement and the senses, the realm of Smail Kanouté is easily declined in artistic expression workshops where everyone is encouraged to unleash their creativity. As of 2017, mediation actions are thus carried out for middle and high school students in partnership with Centquatre-Paris, the Institute de Cultures d’Islam, the House of Amateur Art Practices (MPAA) and the Fabrique de la Danse.

Video, and dance-video creations are another mean of expression for  Smaïl Kanouté. In the year 2015, he founded collective RACINE with Kevin Gay (director) and Henri Coutant (photographer), developing an amazing repertory of video-works.

In this sense, he is working on a triptych of dance videos: New York – NEVER TWENTY ONE / Japan – YASUKE KURUSAN / Benin – DANCES OF LAC NOKOUE, with the support of the Maison Européenne de la Photographie and the DGCA. The showings will be accompanied by dance performances.

Never Twenty One is now developed as a dance trio, during winter 2019/2020 at Ateliers Médicis, hosting Smaïl Kanouté as an associate artist, and at Centquatre-Paris. It is in the context of this new stage work that company Vivons joined camin aktion for a cooperation regarding networking, facilitating and dissemination. 

World premier occurs on 30th and 31st May 2020 as part of renowned festival Rencontres Internationales de Bagnolet, in the space of Ateliers Médicis in Clichy-sous-Bois (outskirts of Paris).

Photo © Ruben Mbengi

Compagnie Vivons

Smaïl Kanouté

La Compagnie Vivons voit le jour en 2016 sous l’impulsion du danseur-chorégraphe-plasticien (choré-graphiste) Smaïl Kanouté. Dès le départ artiste associé au Centquatre – Paris, artiste en résidence à Mains d’Œuvres (Saint-Ouen, 93), puis artiste choisi pour intégrer la promotion 2018 de l’incubateur de chorégraphes de la Fabrique de la Danse (Paris), son travail est régulièrement programmé en Île-de-France.

Artiste talentueux et généreux, diplômé de l’ENSAD, Smail Kanouté brouille sans complexe les frontières entre danse et art graphique. Parce que choisir c’est renoncer, lui, a décidé de vivre sans concession ses passions… pour à travers son art, offrir au monde sa conception de la beauté, de la bonté et de l’humanité. Dans son processus créatif, tout part d’un motif : une forme, une ligne, une courbe, une couleur, une émotion, une énergie… auxquelles il donne vie à travers son corps.

Chorégraphier revient à créer un tableau de motifs mouvants dans l’espace. Danse et graphisme sont alors pour lui une manière de se raconter, de partager une partie de soi. La question des origines et de la quête d’identité, savoir d’où l’on vient pour mieux définir qui nous voulons devenir traverse sa démarche qui se nourrit des métissages artistiques et culturels.

Les projets de la Compagnie Vivons s’articulent autour de trois axes :

Les projets performatifs souvent issus de la rencontre avec un artiste, une esthétique, une thématique, et visant à créer une forme nouvelle mêlant design, danse et arts visuels.

Les pièces chorégraphiques, espace où Smail Kanouté peut pousser plus loin sa recherche formelle et développer un propos plus personnel.

La médiation artistique autour de son écriture protéiforme. Privilégiant l’expressivité du mouvement et le ressenti, l’univers de Smail Kanouté se décline aisément en ateliers d’expression artistique où chacun est encouragé à libérer sa créativité. Dès 2017, des actions de médiation sont ainsi menées en direction de collégiens et lycéens en partenariat avec le Centquatre-Paris, l’Institut des Cultures d’Islam, la Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateurs (MPAA) et la Fabrique de la danse.

La création vidéo/vidéo-danse est un autre médium pour Smaïl Kanouté qui a crée en 2015 RACINE avec Kevin Gay (réalisateur) et Henri Coutant (Photographe), développant un impressionnant répertoire d’œuvres.

Actuellement, Smaïl Kanouté travaille sur un triptyque de vidéos-danse : New York – NEVER TWENTY ONE / Japon – YASUKE KURUSAN / Bénin – DANSES DU LAC NOKOUE, avec le soutien de la Maison Européenne de la Photographie et de la DGCA. La diffusion sera accompagnée de performances dansées.

Le volet Never Twenty One prend aussi la forme d’un trio chorégraphique, développé en hiver 2019/printemps 2020 aux Ateliers Médicis, où Smaïl Kanouté est artiste associé, et au Centquatre-Paris. C’est pour cette production que la compagnie Vivons a proposé une coopération à camin aktion qui consiste en une mise en réseau et la diffusion.

La première aura lieu les 30 et 31 mai 2020 dans le cadre des Rencontres Internationales de Bagnolet, avec une programmation aux Ateliers Médicis à Clichy-sous-Bois.

Photo © Ruben Mbengi