Kompani Frikar | GotoGuta

A choreography by Hallgrim Hansegård

trio dance |

violin

Creation 2015

Running time: 55 minutes

Suitable to all audiences

Through GotoGuta, Hallgrim Hansegård questions the expectations, even the stereotypes, of an audience when it comes to body contact between dancers. Hallgrim developed a choreography where group dynamics and individual expression are dynamically balanced, leaving space to every dancer. All this in a dialogue with a young musician, as virtuoso as the performers, and fully part of the dramaturgy, using his traditional fiddles and classic violins.

Hallgrim Hansegård counts as a pioneer in the choreographic construction based on his folk dances, and he dares something unprecedented : using the traditional halling, usually a solo- or couple dance between a man and a woman, with a group of young men, focussing on contact and body relation.

 

What the critics wrote

”Tender, powerful and acrobatic. In GotoGuta the energy that flows between the performers challenges us. It is both very sensitive and full of power and humour. It is good to see men behave in this way, with such a great breadth of expression.  (…)

The phenomena Frikar is among the best things happened to the Norwegian contemporary dance.” 

Marianne Lystrup in Folkemusikk

Photos © Pål Laukli. Photo torses nus © Stjerne

Kompani Frikar | GotoGuta

Une chorégraphie de Hallgrim Hansegård

trio danse |

violoniste

Création 2015

Durée : 55 minutes

Tous publics

Avec GotoGuta, Hallgrim Hansegård interroge les attentes, voire les stéréotypes, que la danse contact entre hommes peut susciter chez le spectateur. Il construit une chorégraphie qui oscille entre dynamique de groupe et expression individuelle, laissant la place à l’expression de chaque danseur – le tout dans un dialogue avec un jeune musicien aussi virtuose, articulant l’approche dramaturqique avec l’usage savant de différents violons, traditionnels et classiques.

Au-delà de cette première approche, Hallgrim Hansegård, qui est pionnier dans l’écriture chorégraphique basée sur ces danses folkloriques, tente un inédit : travailler la danse traditionnelle du halling, qui s’exécute traditionnellement en solo ou dans une rencontre homme-femme, avec un groupe de jeunes hommes, en mettant le toucher et le rapport physique au premier plan.

Les médias en parlent

”Tendre, fort et acrobatique – le flux d’énergie entre les danseurs de GotoGuta nous touche. C’est une proposition à la fois très sensuelle, puissante et plein d’humour. Cela fait du bien de voir des hommes avec autant de sensibilité, avec une si grande rangée d’expressions. (…)
Le phénomène Frikar est parmi les meilleurs acquis de la danse contemporaine en Norvège.”

Marianne Lystrup dans Folkemusikk

Photos © Pål Laukli. Photo torses nus © Stjerne