Konpani Soul City |

Didier Boutiana

Le Port | La Réunion

Company Soul City, based on the island of La Réunion (French oversea county), is directed by Didier Boutiana. The company arose from the most ancient bboy crew from Réunion. Renowned for its shows, battles and transmissions, the crew became a professional dance company in 2008.

Didier Boutiana and his team develop a dance work fed by the cultural identity of La Réunion: dance  forms rooted in hiphop is their source of expression, enhanced with a state of mind, the culture and the freedom of physical expression proper to the local cultures.

Representative for the values of the hiphop culture, the company develops an important outreach work. With this sense of sharing, the company supports the progress of emerging/semi-professional dancers. Through dance classes or in the context of real and professional artistic working conditions, dancers committed to a professional career are faced with new perspectives, other choreographic expressions – and the stage.

Soul City does not stand for one type of dance but rather for a state of mind which has been passed on from generation to generation for almost 15 years, using open-mindness as a key-concept.

Konpani Soul City |

Didier Boutiana

Le Port | La Réunion

La compagnie Soul City, basée dans la ville du Port à La Réunion, est dirigée par Didier Boutiana. Issu du plus ancien groupe de bboys de la Réunion, le crew a rapidement été remarquée pour ses shows, battles et transmissions. En 2008, la structuration en compagnie de danse est accomplie.

Didier Boutiana et son équipe développent un travail chorégraphique et culturel qui se nourrit de l’identité culturelle réunionnaise : la danse hiphop est la base de l’expression que Didier Boutiana décline, articule et conjugue avec la culture locale, un état d’esprit et une liberté corporelle.

Tout à l’image du mouvement hiphop, la compagnie donne une place importante au travail de transmission. Aussi la future génération de danseurs réunionnais est formée dans cette vision. A travers formations et mises en conditions artistiques réelles et professionnelles, les danseurs en voie de professionnalisation se confrontent à d’autres regards et à d’autres langages chorégraphiques et à la scène. 

Soul City ne défend pas une simple danse, mais des valeurs transmises de génération en génération depuis près de 15 ans – avec l’ouverture d’esprit comme maître-mot.

Photo © Pierre Reydon