Company Vivons | Never Twenty One

Smaïl Kanouté

Creation 2020

Trio | 55 minutes

Suitable to all audiences

Education activities

Echoing the hashtag ​#Never 21​ designed by the Black Lives Matter movement to denounce the early deaths that gnaw at discriminated youth in poor neighborhoods, with this choreographic piece Smail Kanouté wishes to pay tribute to the young victims of firearms in New York, Rio or Johannesburg… who die before the age of 21.

In the mystical symbolism, the number 21 is a sign of divine protection and luck. It’s a number that promotes creative inspiration, success, fulfillment. In this, the 21 generally pushes to want to rise higher and to seek a certain fullness. In its positive aspects, this number is then the expression of balance and harmony. But in its negative aspects, a sometimes disproportionate ambition and the risks of dispersion can take over.

Never Twenty One… when the number 21 becomes a cursed number, symbol of shortened lives.

Is living without reaching the age of majority a life? Dying in childhood, what does it mean? Dancing a missing child, what does that induce? An innocence in the movement?

And for loved ones, what traces leaves a mourning on a body? What dialogue is created between the visible and the invisible? Scientists say the body loses 21 grams upon death. Is it the weight of the soul? That of emotions, bodily energy, memories of a lifetime?

In an urban atmosphere tinged with shamanism, three dancers will resuscitate the words / ills of the victims and their families. Through their bodies that have become graphic sculptures, surfaces of expression and claim, objects of resilience, memorials … like wandering spirits, they will tell us about their lives stolen, torn away, sacrificed.

Through them, we will relive the moment of the murder, but also the encounters and the roles that each takes in this arms business which eats away at this discriminated youth from poor neighborhoods. An inevitable chess game where some, imprisoned in mafia circles, are pushed to play with their lives, and where others, innocent, find themselves unexpectedly on the trajectory of stray bullets.

Here, life hangs by a thread and every day destinies are broken prematurely.

Never Twenty One is based on the testimonies of the families of the victims who will be partially transcribed on the bodies of the dancers who will become their interpreters and messengers. A body-words-public trilogue will thus be created to pay homage to the missing and keep their memories alive. The work of light will come to suggest the absence, but also the sometimes angry souls of the victims in search of forgiveness and peace. Moving from urban dance to contemporary dance, from hybrid to tribal, different energies will cross and animate the bodies to make the invisible appear and name the inexpressible.

These tales alive in the past, mortified in the present and garish in the future will echo those of the favelas of Rio or the townships of Soweto…

Never Twenty One… because their lives still matter.

Choreography Smail Kanouté

Performer Aston Bonaparte, Jérôme Fidelin aka Goku & Smail Kanouté

Outside view Moustapha Ziane

Sound- and light creation Paul Lajus    

Set design  Olivier Brichet    

Body painting Lorella Disez

Costume design Rachel Boa & Ornella Maris

Production Company Vivons !

Co-production Les Ateliers Médicis – Clichy sous Bois | Espace 1789 – Saint-Ouen | CENTQUATRE – PARIS | Les Rencontres Chorégraphiques Internationales de Seine Saint Denis | Théâtre de la Ville – Danse Élargie 2020

Support DRAC Ile de France | Région Île-de-France | Ville de Paris | Adami | Spedidam | Caisse des Dépôts

Stage photogaraphies © Mark Maborough | Screenshots – New York © Henri Coutant

Compagnie Vivons | Never Twenty One

Smaïl Kanouté

Création 2020

Trio | 60 minutes

Tous publics

Actions de transmission

En écho à l’hashtag #Never 21 conçu par le mouvement Black Lives Matter pour dénoncer les décès précoces qui rongent la jeunesse discriminée des quartiers pauvres, à travers cette création chorégraphique, Smail Kanouté souhaite rendre hommage aux jeunes victimes des armes à feu de New York, Rio ou Johannesburg… qui décèdent avant l’âge de 21 ans.

Dans la symbolique mystique, le numéro 21 est signe de protection divine et de chance. C’est un nombre qui favorise l’inspiration créatrice, le succès, l’épanouissement. En cela, le 21 pousse généralement à vouloir s’élever plus haut et à rechercher une certaine plénitude. Dans ses aspects positifs, ce nombre est alors l’expression de l’équilibre et de l’harmonie. Mais dans ses aspects négatifs, une ambition parfois démesurée et les risques de dispersion peuvent prendre le dessus.

Never Twenty One… quand le numéro 21 devient un chiffre maudit, symbole de vies écourtées.

Vivre sans atteindre la majorité, est-ce une vie ? Mourir dans l’enfance, qu’est-ce que cela signifie ? Danser un enfant disparu, qu’est-ce que cela induit ? Une innocence dans le mouvement ?

Et pour les proches, quelles traces laisse un deuil sur un corps ? Quel dialogue se crée entre le visible et l’invisible ? Selon les scientifiques, le corps perdrait 21 grammes lors du décès. Est-ce le poids de l’âme ? Celui des émotions, de l’énergie corporelle, des souvenirs d’une vie?

Dans une atmosphère urbaine teintée de chamanisme, trois danseurs ressusciteront les mots/maux des victimes et de leurs familles. Par leurs corps devenus sculptures graphiques, surfaces d’expression et de revendication, objets de résilience, mémorial… tels des esprits errants, ils nous raconteront ces vies volées, arrachées, sacrifiées.

A travers eux, nous revivrons le moment du meurtre, mais aussi les rencontres et les rôles que chacun prend dans ce business des armes qui ronge cette jeunesse discriminée des quartiers pauvres. Un jeu d’échec inéluctable où certains, emprisonnés dans les cercles mafieux, sont poussés à jouer avec leur vie, et où d’autres, innocents, se retrouvent inopinément sur la trajectoire de balles perdues.

Ici, la vie ne tient qu’à un fil et chaque jour des destins sont brisés prématurément.

Chorégraphie Smail Kanouté

Interprétation Aston Bonaparte, Yann Brelle aka Presher Blue et Smail Kanouté

Regard extérieur Moustapha Ziane

Création son & lumières Paul Lajus    

Body painting Lorella Disez

Production déléguée Compagnie Vivons !

Coproduction (en cours) Les Ateliers Médicis – Clichy sous Bois. | Visages du Monde – Ville de Cergy | CENTQUATRE – PARIS

Soutien Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles d’Île-de-France

Never Twenty One s’appuiera sur les témoignages des familles des victimes qui seront partiellement retranscrits sur le corps des danseurs qui en deviendront les interprètes et les messagers. Un trilogue corps-mots-publics se créera ainsi pour rendre hommage aux disparus et garder vivant leur souvenir. Le travail de la lumière viendra suggérer l’absence, mais aussi les âmes parfois rageuses des victimes en quête de pardon et de paix. Passant du krump à la wave, du new style au tribal, différentes énergies viendront traverser et animer les corps pour faire apparaître l’invisible et nommer l’indicible.

Ces récits vivants dans le passé, mortifiés dans le présent et criards dans le futur feront écho à ceux des favelas de Rio ou des townships de Soweto…

Never Twenty One… because their lives still matter.

Photos © Henri Coutant