Compagnie Dans6T | Réversible 

A choreography by Bouziane Bouteldja

solo |

dance |

video

Creation 2015 50 minutes

Up from 6 years

Sex, then religion, then power. Power, then sex, then religion. Whichever way you approach the subject, whichever way you look at the issue, it’s the same sacred trinity, irrevocable, with its procession of taboos that buzz around them like wasps. This trinity is maintained by ignorance, of course. But when one adds to it frustration, hypocrisy, lies, underdevelopment and fear, one creates the most fertile breeding-ground for the spawning of social unrest and psychological illnesses.”

Jumana Haddad

Bouziane Bouteldja : In this work, I speak about taboos, religions, prohibitions, oppression; about those old traditions that create an environment, which favours frustration, moral, physical and sexual violence, and extreme spirals of downward descent.

            This is not an insult.                         It’s the expression of my relaimed freedom.

After dealing with topics of rejection and exclusion in the performance Alterity, in which the journey towards the discovery of the Other is portrayed through the medium of dance, Bouziane Bouteldja is drawing from the wellspring of his culture to comprehend how body and thought submit themselves to physical, moral and religious oppression.

Based on personal experience, one of sexual violence, he shows that fatality is not an end. In an environment where the attackers blend in with the attacked, all victims of an education in which sexual prohibitions create drifts and disasters, the body that frees itself can help to retrieve this freedom lost during childhood. The body looks for every opportunity to liberate itself from prohibitions.

After deciding to escape religion, it seemed important to speak of his experiences, and above all of the love that saved him. It is the work around the body that made this emancipation possible: and today it is dance which allows him to reconstruct himself, which enables him to speak of the respect for oneself and for others, about freedom of conscience, and the acceptance of another part of oneself.

Outreach activities

  • Dance classes & masterclasses: all levels
  • Q&A: all types of audiences

Photos © Gilles Rodot. Photo rideau vert © Laurine Sajoux

Compagnie Dans6T | Réversible

Une chorégraphie de Bouziane Bouteldja

solo |

danse |

vidéo

Création 2015

Durée : 50 minutes

A partir de 6 ans

« Le sexe, puis la religion, puis le pouvoir. Le pouvoir, puis le sexe, puis la religion.

De quelque côté qu’on aborde le sujet, de quelque façon qu’on retourne le problème, c’est la même sacro-sainte trinité, inamovible, avec son cortège de tabous, qui bourdonne autour d’elles comme des guêpes. Cette trinité est entretenue par l’ignorance, bien sûr. Mais quand on y ajoute la frustration, l’hypocrisie, le mensonge, le sous développement et la peur, on obtient le meilleur terreau pour l’éclosion des troubles sociaux et des maladies psychologiques. »

Jumana Haddad

Bouziane Bouteldja : “Dans ce spectacle, je parle des tabous, des religions, des interdits, de cette oppression, de ces vieilles traditions qui créent un environnement propice aux frustrations, aux violences morales, physiques et sexuelles et aux dérives extrêmes.

            Ceci n’est pas une offense.

                        C’est l’expression de ma liberté retrouvée.”

Après avoir abordé le sentiment de rejet et d’exclusion dans Altérité, après avoir mené un premier combat, avec la danse comme matière, pour aller vers la découverte de l’autre, Bouziane Bouteldja est allé puiser au plus profond de sa culture pour comprendre comment le corps et la pensée se soumettent à l’oppression physique, morale et religieuse.

En partant de son expérience personnelle, celle des violences sexuelles, il montre que la fatalité n’est pas une fin. Dans un environnement dans lequel agresseurs et agressés se côtoient, tous victimes d’une éducation où les interdits sexuels créent des dérives et des désastres, le corps qui se libère peut aider à retrouver cette liberté perdue depuis l’enfance. Ce corps qui cherche toutes les occasions pour se libérer des interdits.

Avec du recul à la religion, il lui est possible de parler de ce vécu mais surtout de l’amour qui l’a sauvé. C’est le travail sur le corps qui lui a permis cette émancipation, c’est la danse aujourd’hui qui permet la reconstruction, qui lui permet de parler du respect de soi et des autres, de la liberté de conscience, et de l’acceptation d’une part différente en soi.

Actions de transmission

  • Atelier de danse : tous publics
  • Bord de scène : tous publics

Photos © Gilles Rodot. Photo rideau vert © Laurine Sajoux